Career Training Path › Medical billing & coding programs › Puerto Rico
Medical billing & coding programs in Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico has 21 accredited campuses awarding billing & coding credentials. If you finish and work as a medical records specialist in Puerto Rico, expect to start around $21,900–$23,020 and reach a median of $27,990 with experience; the top quarter earn $39,680 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Puerto Rico). Graduates of these Puerto Rico programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $15,352 in their first year, against $26,499 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What medical records specialists earn in Puerto Rico
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 1,850 employed in Puerto Rico. National median: $51,140.
Campuses in Puerto Rico, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AreciboBarranquitasBayamonBayamónCaguasCarolinaFajardoGuayamaGuraboHato ReyJuana DiazManatiMayaguezSan GermanSan JuanSan Sebastian
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NUC University | Bayamon | for-profit | 756 | $21,168 | $10,558 | not reported | not reported |
| Huertas College | Caguas | for-profit | 1 | $19,101 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Columbia Central University-Caguas | Caguas | for-profit | 15 | $17,933 | $10,558 | not reported | not reported |
| Dewey University-Manati | Manati | non-profit | 10 | $15,352 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dewey University-Carolina | Carolina | non-profit | 9 | $15,352 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dewey University-Juana DÃaz | Juana Diaz | non-profit | 5 | $15,352 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dewey University-Hato Rey | Hato Rey | non-profit | 4 | $15,352 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| ICPR Junior College | Hato Rey | for-profit | 22 | $14,349 | not reported | 51% | not reported |
| ICPR Junior College | Manati | for-profit | 20 | $14,349 | not reported | 61% | not reported |
| ICPR Junior College-Arecibo | Arecibo | for-profit | 18 | $14,349 | not reported | 60% | not reported |
| ICPR Junior College-Mayaguez | Mayaguez | for-profit | 4 | $14,349 | not reported | 67% | not reported |
| EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San Sebastian | San Sebastian | non-profit | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Guayama | Guayama | non-profit | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Metro | San Juan | non-profit | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Barranquitas | Barranquitas | non-profit | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San Juan | San Juan | non-profit | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus | San Juan | non-profit | 3 | not reported | $8,400 | not reported | not reported |
| Universidad Central de Bayamon | Bayamón | non-profit | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Fajardo | Fajardo | non-profit | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German | San German | non-profit | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus | Gurabo | non-profit | 2 | not reported | $5,750 | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.