Career Training Path › Diesel mechanic schools › New Jersey
Diesel mechanic schools in New Jersey
New Jersey has 3 accredited campuses awarding diesel tech credentials. If you finish and work as a diesel technician in New Jersey, expect to start around $49,140–$59,740 and reach a median of $72,340 with experience; the top quarter earn $79,850 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, New Jersey). Graduates of these New Jersey programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $32,972 in their first year, against $37,506 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists earn in New Jersey
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 8,160 employed in New Jersey. National median: $61,770.
Campuses in New Jersey, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: BlackwoodBloomfieldToms River
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Universal Technical Institute-Bloomfield | Bloomfield | for-profit | 47 | $37,936 | $14,735 | 67% | $33,070 |
| Pennco Tech-Blackwood | Blackwood | for-profit | 26 | $28,009 | $13,043 | 73% | $27,966 |
| Ocean County Vocational-Technical School | Toms River | Public | 1 | not reported | not reported | 65% | $17,400 |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.