Career Training Path
Students training in a construction program

Career Training PathConstruction trades programs › Wisconsin

Construction trades programs in Wisconsin

Wisconsin has 14 accredited campuses awarding construction credentials. If you finish and work as a construction laborer in Wisconsin, expect to start around $37,990–$46,060 and reach a median of $56,100 with experience; the top quarter earn $72,130 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Wisconsin). Graduates of these Wisconsin programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $35,000 in their first year, against $27,572 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What construction laborers earn in Wisconsin

$37,990starting (10th percentile)
$46,060early career (25th)
$56,100median, all experience
$72,130experienced (75th)
$80,920top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 20,330 employed in Wisconsin. National median: $47,120.

Campuses in Wisconsin, ranked by what their graduates earned

14campuses in Wisconsin
381credentials awarded / yr
$35,000median earnings, yr 1 (Wisconsin)
$27,572median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: AppletonClevelandEau ClaireFennimoreFond du LacGreen BayKenoshaLa CrosseMadisonMilwaukeePewaukeeRice LakeWausauWisconsin Rapids

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Western Technical College La Crosse Public 13 $35,000 not reported 34% not reported
Moraine Park Technical College Fond du Lac Public 52 not reported not reported 58% not reported
Mid-State Technical College Wisconsin Rapids Public 45 not reported not reported 52% not reported
Northwood Technical College Rice Lake Public 39 not reported not reported 56% not reported
Madison Area Technical College Madison Public 37 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Gateway Technical College Kenosha Public 34 not reported not reported 51% not reported
Fox Valley Technical College Appleton Public 31 not reported not reported 65% not reported
Milwaukee Area Technical College Milwaukee Public 31 not reported not reported 25% not reported
Chippewa Valley Technical College Eau Claire Public 23 not reported not reported 50% not reported
Waukesha County Technical College Pewaukee Public 21 not reported not reported 44% not reported
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College Green Bay Public 20 not reported not reported 51% not reported
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College Fennimore Public 18 not reported not reported 66% not reported
Northcentral Technical College Wausau Public 13 not reported not reported 45% not reported
Lakeshore Technical College Cleveland Public 4 not reported not reported 50% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Wisconsin

All trade and career schools in Wisconsin →

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →