Career Training Path
Students training in a welding program

Career Training PathWelding schools › West Virginia

Welding schools in West Virginia

West Virginia has 12 accredited campuses awarding welding credentials. If you finish and work as a welder in West Virginia, expect to start around $36,700–$39,900 and reach a median of $48,810 with experience; the top quarter earn $60,170 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, West Virginia). Graduates of these West Virginia programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $31,802 in their first year, against $34,154 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What welders, cutters, solderers and brazers earn in West Virginia

$36,700starting (10th percentile)
$39,900early career (25th)
$48,810median, all experience
$60,170experienced (75th)
$73,780top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 2,100 employed in West Virginia. National median: $53,750.

Campuses in West Virginia, ranked by what their graduates earned

12campuses in West Virginia
92credentials awarded / yr
$31,802median earnings, yr 1 (West Virginia)
$34,154median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: BeaverBeckleyBuckhannonDunbarFosterHuntingtonLoganMartinsburgParkersburgSouth CharlestonWheeling

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
West Virginia University at Parkersburg Parkersburg Public university 9 $31,802 not reported not reported not reported
New River Community and Technical College Beaver Public technical college 29 not reported not reported 36% not reported
Mountwest Community and Technical College Huntington Public technical college 9 not reported not reported 19% not reported
Ben Franklin Career Center Dunbar Public technical college 7 not reported not reported 86% $9,351
Boone Career and Technical Center Foster Public technical college 7 not reported not reported not reported not reported
Blue Ridge Community and Technical College Martinsburg Public technical college 6 not reported not reported 32% not reported
Fred W Eberle Technical Center Buckhannon Public technical college 6 not reported not reported 98% $9,294
West Virginia Northern Community College Wheeling Public community college 6 not reported not reported 33% not reported
Academy of Careers and Technology Beckley Public technical college 5 not reported not reported 82% $18,803
Cabell County Career Technology Center Huntington Public technical college 4 not reported not reported 64% $8,474
BridgeValley Community & Technical College South Charleston Public technical college 3 not reported not reported 34% not reported
Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Logan Public technical college 1 not reported not reported 29% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

Other trades in West Virginia

All trade and career schools in West Virginia →

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →