Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › Tonsorial Arts Barber College

Tonsorial Arts Barber College

Texarkana, Texas · Private for-profit career college

Barber schoolsCosmetology schools
59%completion rate · Texas avg 64%
$10,667median debt of graduates
not reportedmedian earnings, 6 yrs after entry
not reportedmedian earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$26,215annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education (Accredited)
Address: 2831 New Boston Road, Texarkana, TX 75501 · Phone: (903) 255-7003 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
Sanction on record, since lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning or Equivalent-Factors Affecting Academic Quality · Council on Occupational Education; Sep 2025 · Removal of Show Cause Status. 2 sanction actions in the window.
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Tonsorial Arts Barber College is a private for-profit trade school in Texarkana, Texas offering barber and cosmetology programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Tonsorial Arts Barber College has a 58.8% completion rate versus a 63.5% state average, and graduates carry a median debt of $10,667, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus.

Annual cost of attendance at Tonsorial Arts Barber College is $26,215, and the school accepts federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants, with 89.0% of students receiving Pell.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Tonsorial Arts Barber… Tonsorial Arts Barber…: 58.8% 58.8% Texas average Texas average: 63.5% 63.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Barbers$28,340$30,760$37,160
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$23,580$30,680$47,180

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 25 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 13 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Tonsorial Arts Barber College is a private for-profit trade school in Texarkana, Texas, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education. Because it participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, students may use FAFSA and Pell Grants to help pay for their education. The campus's main programs are barber schools and cosmetology schools, with barber training being the larger of the two by completions.

Federal data show a completion rate of 58.8%, which is near the Texas state average of 63.5% for similar programs. Graduates who borrowed carried a median debt of $10,667. Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $26,215, and 89.0% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating the student body is largely made up of lower-income learners.

This campus is set in a small city and enrolls about 170 undergraduates, with 38 recent program completers. The barber and cosmetology programs are typically shorter, hands-on tracks rather than multi-year degrees, which may suit those seeking a faster path into a trade or a career change, though specific program lengths are not reported here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the Council on Occupational Education and review the school's outcomes on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Tonsorial Arts Barber College offers barber schools and cosmetology schools, with 25 students in barber programs and 13 in cosmetology.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants. About 89.0% of students receive Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 58.8%, which is near the Texas state average of 63.5% for comparable programs.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $10,667 according to federal data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly or check the College Scorecard link for updates.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The listed annual cost of attendance is $26,215.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition structure and financial aid options compared to public or non-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (903) 255-7003 or visit its website for specifics.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation with the Council on Occupational Education and review outcomes data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?494719.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The barber and cosmetology programs are shorter, skills-based trade offerings, which may appeal to adults seeking a faster path into a new field, though specific scheduling details are not reported here.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements for barbers and cosmetologists vary by state and are not detailed in federal data; contact the school or Texas licensing board for specifics.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Tonsorial Arts Barber College at (903) 255-7003 or through its website at https://www.tonsorialartsbarbercollege.com/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not reported here; use the College Scorecard link to research and compare similar programs in the area.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →