Career Training Path

Career Training PathIllinois › Steven Papageorge Hair Academy

Steven Papageorge Hair Academy

Chicago, Illinois · Private for-profit career school

Cosmetology schools
50%completion rate · Illinois avg 58%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$21,758median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$29,592median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$14,366annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (Accredited)
Address: 3401 w Lawrence, Chicago, IL 60625 · Phone: (773) 883-5100 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Steven Papageorge Hair Academy is a private for-profit trade school in Chicago, IL offering cosmetology programs, accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.

Steven Papageorge Hair Academy has a 50.0% completion rate, below the Illinois state average of 58.4%, and median graduate earnings of $29,592 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance at Steven Papageorge Hair Academy is $14,366, federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here, and 27.9% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Steven Papageorge Hai… Steven Papageorge Hai…: 50% 50% Illinois average Illinois average: 58.4% 58.4% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$31,200$34,040$41,110

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Illinois (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 18 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →

About this school

Steven Papageorge Hair Academy is a private for-profit trade school located in Chicago, Illinois. The campus is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences, and it participates in federal Title IV financial aid programs, meaning students may use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants, to help pay for tuition. The school's primary offering is cosmetology programs, with 18 completers reported in the most recent federal data out of an undergraduate enrollment of about 60 students.

Federal Scorecard data shows a completion rate of 50.0%, which is below the Illinois state average of 58.4% for similar programs. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $29,592. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $14,366, and 27.9% of students receive Pell Grants, an indicator of lower-income student enrollment.

This campus offers a single program family — cosmetology — and may suit students seeking focused, hands-on training in that field, though specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data, making it hard to assess fit for adult career-changers seeking accelerated timelines. Prospective students should verify accreditation status directly with the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and review the school's full outcomes on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Steven Papageorge Hair Academy offers cosmetology programs, its sole listed program family, with 18 completers reported in recent federal data.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 50.0%, which is below the Illinois state average of 58.4%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (773) 883-5100 or check the College Scorecard for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $29,592, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The reported annual cost of attendance is $14,366.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition levels, aid eligibility, and institutional priorities compared to public or non-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current schedules.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation with the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences and review federal outcomes data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?146807.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not report program lengths or scheduling options, so fit for adult career-changers cannot be assessed from federal data alone; contact the school directly to ask.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements after completing a cosmetology program are not reported in federal data; contact the school or Illinois's cosmetology licensing board for details.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Steven Papageorge Hair Academy at (773) 883-5100 or visit https://stevenpapageorgehairacademy.com/ for application information.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →