Career Training Path

Career Training PathCalifornia › South Coast College

South Coast College

Orange, California · Private for-profit career college

Medical assistant programs
17%completion rate · California avg 64%
$20,938median debt of graduates
$38,599median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$44,897median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (Accredited)
Address: 2011 W. Chapman Avenue, Orange, CA 92868 · Phone: (714) 867-5009 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

South Coast College is a private for-profit trade school in Orange, California, offering medical assistant programs, accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.

South Coast College has a 16.7% completion rate, below the California state average of 64.2%, with median graduate debt of $20,938 and median earnings of $44,897 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for South Coast College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including Pell Grants, can be used, and 56.0% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
South Coast College South Coast College: 16.7% 16.7% California average California average: 64.2% 64.2% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$39,290$49,660$61,870

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in California (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 5 $31,871 $16,394 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

South Coast College is a private for-profit trade and career school located in Orange, California. It is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and students can use federal financial aid (Title IV funding) to help pay for their education. The campus's primary program area is medical assistant programs, with five recent completers in that field.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 16.7%, which is below the California state average of 64.2%. Graduates carry a median debt of $20,938, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $44,897. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 56.0% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of the student body qualifies for need-based federal aid.

This campus, with an undergraduate enrollment of 306 in a midsize city setting, centers its offerings on a single program family: medical assistant training. Given the narrow program focus, it may suit students specifically seeking entry into medical assistant work rather than those wanting broader trade options. Prospective students should independently verify accreditation status and outcomes using the College Scorecard and by contacting the school directly, since program length, schedule details, and licensing requirements are not detailed in the available federal data.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

South Coast College offers medical assistant programs, its only reported program family, with five recent completers.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used. About 56.0% of students receive Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 16.7%, which is below the California state average of 64.2%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt for graduates is reported at $20,938.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $44,897.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (714) 867-5009 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

South Coast College is a private for-profit institution, which can affect tuition pricing and financial aid options compared to public or non-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to confirm scheduling and duration details.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges and review outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?123642.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data does not specify program format or schedule flexibility, so fit for career changers is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school to ask about scheduling options.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for details on medical assistant credentialing.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach South Coast College at (714) 867-5009 or through its website at https://www.southcoastcollege.edu/.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across schools.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →