Career Training Path › Florida › Saint Johns River State College
Saint Johns River State College
Palatka, Florida · Public college
Address: 5001 Saint Johns Ave, Palatka, FL 32177 · Phone: (386) 312-4200 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Saint Johns River State College is a public trade and career school in Palatka, FL offering EMT & paramedic training, LPN programs, and radiology/sonography programs, accredited by ACEN and SACS.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, graduates of Saint Johns River State College carry a median debt of $12,000 and earn a median of $41,728 ten years after entry; the state average completion rate is 70.5%, though this campus's comparison is not reported.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Saint Johns River State College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including Pell Grants, is available, and about 18.7% of students receive Pell.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency medical technicians | $34,120 | $39,870 | $47,000 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,450 | $61,770 | $64,710 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $51,390 | $76,750 | $82,650 |
| Medical records specialists | $36,330 | $45,760 | $59,230 |
| Nursing assistants | $34,350 | $37,510 | $42,310 |
| Medical assistants | $35,880 | $43,680 | $46,800 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Florida (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 34 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 17 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 14 | $43,962 | $45,696 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 8 | $43,962 | $45,696 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Associate degree | 6 | $29,572 | $26,739 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Saint Johns River State College is a public college located in Palatka, FL, accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used by eligible students at this campus. Among its trade and career offerings, the college awards the most certificates and credentials in EMT & paramedic training, LPN / LVN programs, and radiology & sonography programs, with 8 program families in total.
Federal data shows 102 trade completers out of an undergraduate enrollment of 4,403. The state average completion rate is 70.5%, though how this campus compares is not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates carry a median debt of $12,000, and median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $41,728. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 18.7% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of the student body qualifies for need-based aid.
This campus, located in a distant town setting, may suit students pursuing short, focused clinical and technical programs such as EMT training or LPN preparation, as well as those considering longer allied-health pathways like radiology. Whether this fits an adult career-changer depends on individual program length and schedule, which are not detailed here. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status directly with the listed accreditors and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Saint Johns River State College offers 8 program families, with the most completers in EMT & paramedic training (59), LPN / LVN programs (14), and radiology & sonography programs (14).
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and its status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used by eligible students.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The state average completion rate is 70.5%, but how this campus's completion rate compares to that average is not reported for this campus in federal data.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $12,000, per federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $41,728.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public institution, which often means lower tuition for state residents and different funding structures compared to for-profit schools.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school at (386) 312-4200 or visit its website for details.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can confirm accreditation with ACEN or SACS and review federal outcome data on the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?137281.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not directly address adult career-changer fit; however, offerings like EMT training and LPN programs are commonly shorter clinical pathways, which may appeal to those retraining, though program length details are not reported here.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
The specific licensing or certification requirements after completing a program are not reported in this data; contact the school directly to confirm.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Saint Johns River State College at (386) 312-4200 or visit https://www.sjrstate.edu/ for application information.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across institutions.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.