Career Training Path › Florida › Ridge Technical College
Ridge Technical College
Winter Haven, Florida · Public technical college
Address: 7700 State Rd 544, Winter Haven, FL 33881 · Phone: (863) 419-3060 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Ridge Technical College is a public trade school in Winter Haven, Florida offering cosmetology, auto mechanic, and welding programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
Ridge Technical College has a 98.9% completion rate, above the Florida state average of 70.5%, and median earnings 10 years after entry of $33,484, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Ridge Technical College; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 56.5% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $27,450 | $29,530 | $35,090 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $31,970 | $48,260 | $62,990 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $39,200 | $50,640 | $60,600 |
| Manicurists and pedicurists | $28,730 | $37,840 | $48,260 |
| Electricians | $38,190 | $57,250 | $61,900 |
| Medical assistants | $35,880 | $43,680 | $46,800 |
| Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers | $37,700 | $50,640 | $62,380 |
| Massage therapists | $30,310 | $49,680 | $59,700 |
| Pharmacy technicians | $35,760 | $43,590 | $47,570 |
| Construction laborers | $33,280 | $44,030 | $47,970 |
| Nursing assistants | $34,350 | $37,510 | $42,310 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $31,920 | $58,240 | $75,840 |
| Medical records specialists | $36,330 | $45,760 | $59,230 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $50,450 | $61,770 | $64,710 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Florida (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, under 300 hours | 44 | $16,400 | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 38 | $16,400 | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 27 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, under 300 hours | 22 | $16,400 | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 15 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ground Transportation | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, under 300 hours | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Ridge Technical College is a public trade and career school in Winter Haven, Florida, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here because the school participates in Title IV programs. The campus awards 18 program families, with cosmetology schools, auto mechanic schools, and welding schools among the most completed, alongside offerings in electrician training, medical assistant programs, CDL training, and more.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 98.9%, well above the Florida state average of 70.5%. Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $33,484. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data, and annual cost of attendance is likewise not reported for this campus in federal data. About 56.5% of students receive Pell Grants, suggesting a substantial share of the roughly 407 undergraduates enrolled come from lower-income backgrounds.
With 244 trade completers and a locale described as a small city, this campus may suit students seeking short, hands-on training programs in fields like cosmetology, auto repair, or welding rather than multi-year academic degrees. Career changers should confirm program length, schedule, and licensing requirements directly with the school. Prospective students can verify accreditation status through the Council on Occupational Education and review current federal outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Ridge Technical College offers 18 program families, with cosmetology schools, auto mechanic schools, and welding schools among the most completed. Other offerings include electrician, medical assistant, CDL training, massage therapy, pharmacy tech, CNA, culinary, and LPN programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, Ridge Technical College is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as Accredited.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students may use FAFSA and Pell Grants. About 56.5% of students at this campus receive Pell Grants.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 98.9%, which is above the Florida state average of 70.5%, per federal data.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (863) 419-3060 or check the College Scorecard link for updates.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $33,484 per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school directly at (863) 419-3060 or visit ridge.edu for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Ridge Technical College is a public institution, which can affect tuition rates and eligibility for certain state-funded aid programs.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided. Contact the school directly to confirm program duration for individual trades.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?136765.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers short, hands-on trade programs such as cosmetology, auto mechanics, and welding, which may suit career changers, though specific scheduling and program length details are not reported here and should be confirmed with the school.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Ridge Technical College at (863) 419-3060 or visit their website at https://www.ridge.edu/ for application information.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.