Career Training Path

Career Training PathOhio › Ohio University-Southern Campus

Ohio University-Southern Campus

Ironton, Ohio · Public university

Medical assistant programs
not reportedcompletion rate · Ohio avg 69%
$21,056median debt of graduates
$48,991median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$52,581median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Higher Learning Commission (Accredited)
Address: 1804 Liberty Ave, Ironton, OH 45638 · Phone: (740) 533-4600 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a public trade and career school in Ironton, Ohio offering medical assistant programs, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, graduates of Ohio University-Southern Campus carried a median debt of $21,056 and earned a median of $52,581 ten years after entry; campus-specific completion rate is not reported.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Ohio University-Southern Campus; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid can be used here, and about 12.9% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$36,050$42,810$46,270

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Ohio (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Ohio University-Southern Campus is a public college campus in Ironton, Ohio, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used by students who enroll here. The campus is best known in trade-program data for its medical assistant programs, which make up its single reported program family in this dataset.

Federal completion-rate data specific to this campus is not reported for this campus in federal data, though the statewide average completion rate for comparable programs is 68.8%, and it is not reported whether this campus performs above or below that average. Graduates who completed trade programs here carried a median debt of $21,056. Ten years after entering, former students had median earnings of $52,581. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 12.9% of students at this campus receive Pell Grants, indicating some share of lower-income enrollment. Total undergraduate enrollment is 415, with 1 trade-program completer reported.

Given the narrow, single-program footprint in medical assisting, this campus may suit students focused specifically on that field, including adults considering a career change, though program length and schedule details are not reported here and should be confirmed directly with the school. Prospective students should verify current accreditation status with the Higher Learning Commission and review official outcome figures on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling. Contacting the school directly is recommended for tuition, schedule, and application specifics not captured in this federal dataset.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Federal data lists medical assistant programs as the top program family at this campus, with one program reported in total.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, Ohio University-Southern Campus is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal aid programs, so students can use FAFSA and Pell Grants. About 12.9% of students here currently receive Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

Campus-specific completion rate is not reported for this campus in federal data. The state average completion rate for comparable programs is 68.8%, but no comparison is reported.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates of trade programs at this campus carried a median debt of $21,056, per federal Scorecard data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry were $52,581, per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a public campus, which generally means lower tuition for state residents and eligibility for certain state funding, though specific tuition figures are not reported here.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program length is not reported in this federal dataset; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation with the Higher Learning Commission and review official outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at the linked school page.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

Program length and schedule details needed to assess career-changer fit are not reported in this data; contact the school to discuss options for adult students.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing or certification requirements are not reported in this federal dataset; contact the school for details specific to medical assistant programs.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Ohio University-Southern Campus at (740) 533-4600 or visit https://www.ohio.edu/southern/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data against other nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; use the College Scorecard link to compare campuses directly.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →