Career Training Path

Career Training PathFlorida › Marion Technical College

Marion Technical College

Ocala, Florida · Public technical college

CDL / truck driving schoolsCosmetology schoolsCNA classesEMT & paramedic trainingWelding schoolsCulinary & pastry schoolsNail technician schoolsLPN / LVN programsPhlebotomy classesElectrician schoolsMedical assistant programsBarber schools
80%completion rate · Florida avg 71%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$31,354median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$36,095median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$13,021annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education | Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (Accredited)
Address: 1014 SW 7th Rd, Ocala, FL 34471 · Phone: (352) 671-7200 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
Sanction on record, not yet lifted — Jun 2025 · Warning · Council on Occupational Education; Oct 2024 · Renewal of Accreditation. 5 sanction actions in the window.
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Marion Technical College is a public trade school in Ocala, Florida offering CDL/truck driving, cosmetology, and CNA programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Marion Technical College has a 79.6% completion rate, above the Florida state average of 70.5%, and graduates earn a median of $36,095 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance at Marion Technical College is $13,021, federal financial aid including Pell Grants can be used, and 38.8% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Marion Technical Coll… Marion Technical Coll…: 79.6% 79.6% Florida average Florida average: 70.5% 70.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers$37,700$50,640$62,380
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$27,450$29,530$35,090
Nursing assistants$34,350$37,510$42,310
Emergency medical technicians$34,120$39,870$47,000
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$39,200$50,640$60,600
Chefs and head cooks$31,920$58,240$75,840
Manicurists and pedicurists$28,730$37,840$48,260
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$50,450$61,770$64,710
Phlebotomists$35,560$40,230$45,820
Electricians$38,190$57,250$61,900
Medical assistants$35,880$43,680$46,800
Barbers$31,000$49,410$59,240

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Florida (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Ground Transportation Certificate, 300–899 hours 59 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, under 300 hours 48 $38,623 $36,745 not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 42 not reported $38,829 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, under 300 hours 40 $17,878 $13,702 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 34 $22,849 $23,649 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, under 300 hours 24 $17,878 $13,702 not reported
Ground Transportation Certificate, under 300 hours 22 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 22 $38,623 $36,745 not reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions Certificate, under 300 hours 21 $29,768 $35,420 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 19 $17,878 $13,702 not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 13 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 12 $23,129 $23,373 not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 12 not reported not reported not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 2–4 years 12 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 9 $17,878 $13,702 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 4 $22,849 $23,649 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Marion Technical College is a public trade and career-training campus in Ocala, Florida. It is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. Across its 16 program offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in CDL / truck driving training, cosmetology, and CNA classes.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 79.6%, above the Florida state average of 70.5%. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates report median earnings of $36,095 ten years after entry. Annual cost of attendance is listed at $13,021, and 38.8% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of lower-income students enrolled here.

With 463 undergraduates and 393 trade completers, the campus appears sized around shorter, hands-on programs rather than large multi-year degree tracks, which may suit students seeking a direct path into a trade or adults changing careers, though specific program lengths are not stated here. Anyone considering enrollment should confirm current accreditation status directly with the Council on Occupational Education and review verified outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before applying.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Marion Technical College offers 16 program areas, with the most completers in CDL / truck driving training, cosmetology, and CNA classes. Other program families include welding, culinary arts, phlebotomy, and electrician training.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, and its status is listed as Accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 79.6%, which is above the Florida state average of 70.5%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (352) 671-7200 or check the College Scorecard link for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Graduates report median earnings of $36,095 ten years after entering the program, per federal Scorecard data.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The annual cost of attendance is listed at $13,021.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Marion Technical College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility for state and federal aid programs.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (352) 671-7200 or visit mariontc.edu for program schedules.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation with the Council on Occupational Education and review verified outcome data at the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?419226.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

With a relatively small enrollment of 463 students and a focus on short, hands-on trade programs like CDL training, cosmetology, and CNA classes, this campus may suit adults seeking a direct route into a trade, though exact program lengths are not stated here.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements vary by program and are not detailed in this data; contact the school directly to ask about state licensing for fields like CNA, cosmetology, or CDL.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Marion Technical College at (352) 671-7200 or visit https://www.mariontc.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not included here; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across similar institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →