Career Training Path › Texas › Kilgore College
Kilgore College
Kilgore, Texas · Public community college
Address: 1100 Broadway, Kilgore, TX 75662 · Phone: (903) 984-8531 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Kilgore College is a public trade school in Kilgore, TX offering Cosmetology, Welding, and HVAC programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Kilgore College has a 39.2% completion rate, below the Texas state average of 63.5%, with median graduate debt of $14,967 and median earnings of $37,975 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance for Kilgore College is not reported in federal data; contact the school for current tuition. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and 31.7% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $23,580 | $30,680 | $47,180 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $38,380 | $53,340 | $64,770 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $38,100 | $57,760 | $69,860 |
| Radiologic technologists and technicians | $48,550 | $78,630 | $93,830 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $31,380 | $56,080 | $71,870 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $29,360 | $48,310 | $62,270 |
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $40,930 | $58,810 | $70,400 |
| Medical assistants | $31,200 | $39,520 | $46,180 |
| Barbers | $28,340 | $30,760 | $37,160 |
| Emergency medical technicians | $30,320 | $37,260 | $44,240 |
| Surgical technologists | $39,950 | $65,220 | $80,790 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 57 | $13,918 | $14,627 | $8,250 |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 28 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 19 | $13,918 | $14,627 | $8,250 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 16 | $47,223 | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 16 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | $35,443 | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | $13,918 | $14,627 | $8,250 |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 12 | $35,443 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 9 | $57,437 | $48,432 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 9 | $13,918 | $14,627 | $8,250 |
| Precision Metal Working | Associate degree | 9 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 1 | $47,223 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 1 | $47,223 | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Kilgore College is a public trade and career school located in Kilgore, Texas, a fringe town setting. It participates in federal financial aid programs (Title IV), meaning students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for their education. The college holds accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with program-specific accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Physical Therapy Association's Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education. Among its 19 program families, the campus awards the most credentials in Cosmetology schools (88 completions), Welding schools (37), and HVAC schools (19), out of 229 total trade completers.
In terms of outcomes, Kilgore College's completion rate is 39.2%, which is below the Texas state average of 63.5%. Graduates carry a median debt of $14,967, and median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,975. About 31.7% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a meaningful share of the student body comes from lower-income backgrounds. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With a strong emphasis on cosmetology, welding, and HVAC, this campus may suit students seeking hands-on, shorter-cycle trade programs rather than long academic degrees, though specific program lengths are not reported here. Career changers and adult learners considering this school should verify current accreditation status and detailed outcome data directly through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, and confirm program specifics with the school directly before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Kilgore College offers 19 program families, with the most completions in Cosmetology schools (88), Welding schools (37), and HVAC schools (19).
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, Kilgore College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional program-specific accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the American Physical Therapy Association's Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, Kilgore College participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate at Kilgore College is 39.2%, which is below the Texas state average of 63.5%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $14,967, according to federal Scorecard data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings 10 years after entry are $37,975, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly at (903) 984-8531 or visit https://www.kilgore.edu/ for current tuition information.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Kilgore College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition costs for state residents and eligibility for state-level funding support.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation status and review detailed outcome data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?226019.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus's focus on cosmetology, welding, and HVAC programs suggests hands-on trade training, though specific fit for career changers depends on program length and format not reported here; contact the school to discuss.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Kilgore College at (903) 984-8531 or visit https://www.kilgore.edu/ for application details.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported in this dataset; consult the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?226019 to compare outcomes across institutions.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.