Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › Houston Training School-Main Campus

Houston Training School-Main Campus

Houston, Texas · Private for-profit career school

Cosmetology schoolsNail technician schoolsEsthetician schools
75%completion rate · Texas avg 64%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$18,606median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$18,991median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
$12,495annual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Council on Occupational Education (Accredited)
Address: 10314 I-10 East Fwy, Houston, TX 77029 · Phone: (281) 867-9099 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Houston Training School-Main Campus is a private for-profit trade school in Houston, TX offering cosmetology, nail technician, and esthetician programs, accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.

Houston Training School-Main Campus has a 75.4% completion rate, above the Texas state average of 63.5%, and median earnings of $18,991 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus.

Annual cost of attendance at Houston Training School-Main Campus is $12,495, and the school accepts federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants. About 94.1% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Houston Training Scho… Houston Training Scho…: 75.4% 75.4% Texas average Texas average: 63.5% 63.5% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$23,580$30,680$47,180
Manicurists and pedicurists$18,950$34,040$38,900
Skincare specialists$27,390$49,250$68,780

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 27 $14,525 $14,773 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 11 $14,525 $14,773 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 7 $14,525 $14,773 not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Houston Training School-Main Campus is a private for-profit trade school located in Houston, Texas. It is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and the school participates in Title IV federal financial aid, meaning students can use FAFSA-based aid such as Pell Grants to help pay for enrollment. The campus's top programs are cosmetology schools, nail technician schools, and esthetician schools, with cosmetology being the largest program by completers.

Federal data shows a completion rate of 75.4%, which is above the Texas state average of 63.5%. Median earnings for graduates 10 years after entry are reported at $18,991. The annual cost of attendance is listed at $12,495, and 94.1% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating the student body is largely lower-income. Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data.

This campus may suit students interested in short, hands-on cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics programs rather than multi-year associate degrees, though specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Career changers considering a switch to personal care services fields may want to review these program families closely. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome figures, prospective students can consult the Council on Occupational Education directly or search the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard using the school's provided link.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Houston Training School-Main Campus offers cosmetology schools, nail technician schools, and esthetician schools. Cosmetology is the largest program, with 27 top program listings, followed by nail technician (11) and esthetician (7) programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, the school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, and its accreditation status is listed as accredited.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 75.4%, which is above the Texas state average of 63.5%.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median debt of graduates is not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school at (281) 867-9099 or visit the College Scorecard link for further details.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $18,991, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

The annual cost of attendance is $12,495.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school. For-profit control can affect tuition pricing and reliance on federal financial aid compared to public or non-profit institutions.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data. Contact the school directly at (281) 867-9099 or via its website for program schedules.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education and review federal outcomes data via the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?380067.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers cosmetology, nail technician, and esthetician programs, which are typically shorter, hands-on trade programs; however, specific fit for career changers is not detailed in federal data, so contacting the school directly is recommended.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data. Prospective students should confirm state licensing requirements for cosmetology, nail technology, or esthetics with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation or the school directly.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can contact Houston Training School-Main Campus at (281) 867-9099 or visit https://houstontrainingschools.net/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data with other nearby schools is not reported for this campus in federal data; prospective students can use the College Scorecard to compare institutions directly.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →