Career Training Path

Career Training PathMaryland › Harford Community College

Harford Community College

Bel Air, Maryland · Public community college

Medical assistant programs
39%completion rate · Maryland avg 47%
$9,812median debt of graduates
$36,741median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$44,608median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | Maryland Board of Nursing | Middle States Commission on Higher Education (Accredited)
Address: 401 Thomas Run Rd, Bel Air, MD 21015 · Phone: (443) 412-2000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Harford Community College is a public trade and career school in Bel Air, Maryland offering medical assistant programs, accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

Harford Community College has a 39.3% completion rate versus a 46.9% state average, with median graduate debt of $9,812 and median earnings of $44,608 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; Harford Community College participates in Title IV federal aid, and about 21.0% of its students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Harford Community Col… Harford Community Col…: 39.3% 39.3% Maryland average Maryland average: 46.9% 46.9% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Medical assistants$36,930$46,410$49,110

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Maryland (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 13 not reported $28,598 not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 6 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

About this school

Harford Community College is a public community college in Bel Air, Maryland. It participates in federal Title IV financial aid, meaning students may use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants, to pay for eligible programs. The college holds accreditation from the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with its nursing-related offerings recognized by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Maryland Board of Nursing. Among its trade and career offerings, medical assistant programs account for the largest share of completions, with 19 completers recorded in the most recent federal data, out of two program families tracked for this campus.

Federal Scorecard data show a completion rate of 39.3%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9% for comparable programs. Graduates carry a median debt of $9,812, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $44,608. About 21.0% of students at Harford Community College receive Pell Grants. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.

With undergraduate enrollment near 3,696 and a fringe rural locale, Harford Community College functions as a comprehensive community college rather than a single-purpose trade school, so program lengths and formats vary by field; specifics on schedules should be confirmed directly with the college. Prospective students, including career changers, should verify current accreditation status and outcome data through the college's website, the accreditors listed above, or the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard before enrolling.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Harford Community College's federal data highlight medical assistant programs as its primary trade offering, with 19 completers recorded. Two program families are tracked for this campus overall.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes. The college is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, with nursing programs additionally recognized by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Maryland Board of Nursing.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, Harford Community College participates in Title IV federal student aid, so FAFSA-based aid including Pell Grants can be used for eligible programs.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 39.3%, which is below the Maryland state average of 46.9% for comparable programs.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $9,812, according to federal Scorecard data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $44,608 per the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Harford Community College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for state residents and public accountability standards compared to for-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported in the provided federal data; prospective students should confirm program duration directly with the college.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can verify accreditation through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education or the nursing accreditors listed, and review outcome data on the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?162706.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The data provided does not specify program formats or scheduling flexibility, so this cannot be confirmed from federal data alone; contact the college at (443) 412-2000 or via https://www.harford.edu/ to ask about options for career changers.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Harford Community College by phone at (443) 412-2000 or visit its website at https://www.harford.edu/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this campus's federal data set; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, debt, and earnings across institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →