Career Training Path

Career Training PathTexas › Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio

Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio

San Antonio, Texas · Private for-profit

LPN / LVN programs
not reportedcompletion rate · Texas avg 64%
$24,166median debt of graduates
$58,951median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$61,480median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 7411 John Smith Drive, Suite 1400, San Antonio, TX 78229 · Phone: (210) 733-3056 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio is a private for-profit trade school in San Antonio, TX offering LPN / LVN programs, accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.

Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, median graduate debt is $24,166 and median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,480; this campus's completion rate versus the state average of 63.5% is not reported.

Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio; contact the school for current tuition. The school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), and about 55.5% of students receive Pell Grants.

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$48,910$62,240$68,410

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Texas (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 286 $37,407 $37,388 $15,800

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →

About this school

Galen College of Nursing-San Antonio is a private for-profit trade and career campus located in San Antonio, Texas. It is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and it participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning eligible students can use FAFSA-based aid such as Pell Grants. The campus's primary program offering is LPN / LVN programs, with 286 recent completers recorded in federal data.

Federal Scorecard data reports some but not all outcome measures for this campus. The state average completion rate for comparable programs is 63.5%, though this campus's own completion rate and how it compares to that state average are not reported for this campus in federal data. Graduates carry a median debt of $24,166, and median earnings ten years after entry are reported at $61,480. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. About 55.5% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of the student body qualifies for need-based aid.

This campus, with an undergraduate enrollment of 2,953 in a large city setting, centers on a single program family — practical/vocational nursing — which typically appeals to students seeking a faster path into a licensed healthcare role rather than a multi-year degree. Career changers and adults considering this path should confirm current program length, schedule, and licensure requirements directly with the school. To verify accreditation status and review the latest federal outcome data yourself, check the accreditors named above and consult the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

This campus offers LPN / LVN programs, with 286 recent program completers recorded in federal data. It is a single-program-family campus focused on practical/vocational nursing.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with a status of "Accredited."

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so eligible students can use FAFSA-based aid, including Pell Grants.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

This campus's own completion rate is not reported for this campus in federal data. The state average completion rate for similar programs is 63.5%, but a direct comparison is not reported.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Graduates carry a median debt of $24,166, per federal Scorecard data.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are reported at $61,480.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (210) 733-3056 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

This is a private for-profit school, which can affect tuition pricing, institutional funding sources, and eligibility for certain state programs compared to public or non-profit schools.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program length is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm the schedule for its LPN / LVN program.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation through the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, and review federal outcome data at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?406033.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a licensed practical/vocational nursing program, which is generally shorter than an associate degree path, though specific schedule and pacing details are not reported here; confirm fit directly with the school.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

The program prepares students for LPN / LVN roles, which typically require passing a state licensing exam; specific licensure requirements are not detailed in this data, so confirm with the school or Texas's nursing board.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach the school at (210) 733-3056 or visit https://www.galencollege.edu/sanantonio/ for application details.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Direct comparisons to other nearby LPN/LVN programs are not reported in this data; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes across schools.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →