Career Training Path › Mississippi › East Central Community College
East Central Community College
Decatur, Mississippi · Public community college
Address: 15738 Highway 15, Decatur, MS 39327 · Phone: (601) 635-2111 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
East Central Community College is a public trade and career school in Decatur, Mississippi, offering diesel mechanic, cosmetology, and LPN programs, accredited by SACS.
East Central Community College has a 36.1% completion rate, below the Mississippi state average of 59.5%, with median graduate debt of $5,500 and median earnings of $32,421 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here, and about 39.1% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
| Occupation | Starting (10th pct) | Median | Experienced (75th) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists | $37,390 | $54,360 | $65,400 |
| Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists | $17,370 | $27,560 | $39,810 |
| Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses | $39,320 | $50,220 | $58,030 |
| Electricians | $38,200 | $60,860 | $63,740 |
| Automotive service technicians and mechanics | $28,650 | $37,820 | $55,000 |
| Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers | $36,800 | $51,100 | $63,440 |
| Surgical technologists | $38,800 | $49,810 | $59,590 |
| Construction laborers | $29,370 | $37,710 | $45,790 |
| HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers | $36,160 | $48,680 | $61,390 |
| Chefs and head cooks | $30,900 | $54,850 | $76,350 |
| Machinists | $34,570 | $55,550 | $63,330 |
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Mississippi (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 16 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 15 | $13,462 | not reported | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 14 | not reported | $28,212 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 8 | not reported | $25,967 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 6 | not reported | $25,194 | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | $38,289 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 2 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | $25,967 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
East Central Community College is a public community college in Decatur, Mississippi, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools with additional nursing-specific accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing. Because the school participates in Title IV federal aid programs, students may use FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants to help cover costs. Among its 17 trade and career program offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in diesel mechanic training, cosmetology, and LPN/LVN nursing.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 36.1%, below the Mississippi state average of 59.5%. Graduates who took on debt carried a median of $5,500, and median earnings ten years after entry were $32,421. About 39.1% of students receive Pell Grants, indicating a substantial share of low-income enrollment. Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data.
With about 1,520 undergraduates and 94 trade-program completers tracked, this rural campus may suit students seeking shorter, hands-on programs in fields like diesel mechanics, cosmetology, or practical nursing rather than a traditional four-year path. The rural locale and program mix suggest it could work for local adults changing careers, though specific program lengths and schedules are not reported here. Prospective students should confirm program-specific accreditation, licensing requirements, and current outcomes directly with the school or via the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard before enrolling.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
East Central Community College offers 17 trade and career programs, with the most awards in diesel mechanic schools, cosmetology schools, and LPN/LVN programs.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with its nursing programs also accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal student aid programs, so FAFSA, federal loans, and Pell Grants can be used.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 36.1%, which is below the Mississippi state average of 59.5%.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $5,500, per federal Scorecard data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $32,421, per federal Scorecard data.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
This is a public community college, which typically means lower tuition and eligibility for state and federal funding compared to for-profit institutions.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Specific program lengths are not reported in this data; contact the school at (601) 635-2111 or visit its website for program schedules.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can review accreditation status and federal outcomes data directly through the College Scorecard at https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?175643.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The campus offers hands-on trade programs like diesel mechanics, cosmetology, and LPN training in a rural setting, which may suit local adults seeking career-focused training, though specific schedule and format details are not reported here.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach East Central Community College at (601) 635-2111 or through its website, https://www.eccc.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across institutions.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.