Career Training Path › Georgia › Columbus Technical College
Columbus Technical College
Columbus, Georgia · Public technical college
Address: 928 Manchester Expressway, Columbus, GA 31904 · Phone: (706) 649-1800 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Sanction on record, since lifted — Nov 2023 · Other · American Board of Funeral Service Education; Apr 2026 · Renewal of Accreditation.
Columbus Technical College is a public trade and career school in Columbus, Georgia, offering welding, auto mechanic, and HVAC programs, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.
Per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, Columbus Technical College has a 26.7% completion rate, below the state average of 49.7%, with median graduate debt of $8,756 and median earnings of $34,238 ten years after entry.
Cost of attendance is not reported in federal data for Columbus Technical College; contact the school for current tuition. The school accepts federal financial aid, and 57.4% of students receive Pell Grants.
What these trades pay once you're working
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Georgia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.
Trade programs at this campus
| Program | Credential | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Earnings, yr 2 | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 57 | $28,718 | $29,685 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 53 | $23,258 | $22,764 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 53 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 49 | $34,299 | $28,019 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 42 | not reported | $20,140 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 30 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants | Certificate, 1–2 years | 26 | $28,718 | $29,685 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 21 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 20 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 18 | $21,361 | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 15 | $39,456 | $46,478 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Associate degree | 14 | $45,490 | $38,289 | not reported |
| Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) | Certificate, 1–2 years | 13 | $34,299 | $28,019 | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 12 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 12 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 11 | not reported | $29,995 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 10 | $39,456 | $46,478 | not reported |
| Carpenters | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dental Support Services and Allied Professions | Certificate, 1–2 years | 10 | not reported | $29,995 | not reported |
| Health and Medical Administrative Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 8 | not reported | $28,236 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 7 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Associate degree | 7 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 6 | $23,258 | $22,764 | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Certificate, 2–4 years | 6 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Culinary Arts and Related Services | Associate degree | 5 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 5 | not reported | $20,140 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 2–4 years | 5 | not reported | $20,140 | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | $23,258 | $22,764 | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
| Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians | Certificate, 1–2 years | 4 | not reported | $20,140 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Associate degree | 3 | $39,456 | $46,478 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical and Power Transmission Installers | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mason/Masonry | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 3 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 1–2 years | 2 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 2 | $14,999 | $18,498 | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | Associate degree | 1 | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Precision Metal Working | Certificate, 300–899 hours | 1 | not reported | $38,829 | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.
About this school
Columbus Technical College is a public trade and career training campus located in Columbus, Georgia. The school participates in federal financial aid (Title IV), meaning students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans to help pay for programs. It holds accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with program-specific accreditors including the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Board of Funeral Service Education, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Across 42 program offerings, the campus awards the most credentials in welding, auto mechanics, and HVAC.
Federal data shows a completion rate of 26.7%, which is below the state average of 49.7%. Graduates carry a median debt of $8,756, and median earnings ten years after entry are $34,238. Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data. Pell Grant recipients make up 57.4% of the student body, indicating a large share of students rely on need-based aid.
With 585 trade completers among an undergraduate enrollment of 2,719, and program families ranging from welding and HVAC to dental hygiene and surgical technology, this campus offers a mix of shorter career-training certificates and longer allied-health programs. Specific program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data, so prospective students, including adult career changers, should contact the school directly to confirm scheduling and duration. Anyone considering enrollment should verify current accreditation status and outcome data directly through the College Scorecard and the listed accreditors before applying.
Questions students ask
What trade and career programs does this campus offer?
Columbus Technical College offers 42 programs across families including welding, auto mechanics, HVAC, medical assisting, cosmetology, culinary arts, radiology technology, dental hygiene, and more. The top programs by completions are welding, auto mechanic, and HVAC schools.
Is this school accredited, and by whom?
Yes, the school is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with several program-specific accreditors such as the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Board of Funeral Service Education, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.
Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?
Yes, this school participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, so students can use FAFSA, Pell Grants, and federal loans.
What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?
The completion rate is 26.7%, which is below the Georgia state average of 49.7%, per the College Scorecard.
How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?
Graduates carry a median debt of $8,756, according to federal data.
What do graduates of this school earn?
Median earnings ten years after entry are $34,238, per the College Scorecard.
How much does it cost to attend for a year?
Cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (706) 649-1800 or visit its website for current tuition figures.
Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?
Columbus Technical College is a public institution, which often means lower tuition for in-state students compared to private for-profit schools, though specific costs are not reported here.
How long do the programs here take to complete?
Program lengths are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly to confirm program duration and scheduling.
How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?
You can verify accreditation status through the listed accreditors and review federal outcome data directly at the College Scorecard link: https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/school/?139357.
Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?
The data does not provide enough information on program formats or schedules to confirm adult career-changer fit; contact the school to discuss options for working adults.
What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?
Licensing requirements are not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school or check with your state's licensing board for specific program requirements.
How do I contact the school or apply?
You can reach Columbus Technical College by phone at (706) 649-1800 or through its website at https://www.columbustech.edu/.
How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?
Comparative data on nearby schools is not included in this listing; use the College Scorecard link to compare outcomes with other institutions in the area.
Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.