Career Training Path

Career Training PathGeorgia › Athens Technical College

Athens Technical College

Athens, Georgia · Public technical college

Auto mechanic schoolsCosmetology schoolsWelding schoolsCDL / truck driving schoolsElectrician schoolsHVAC schoolsEsthetician schoolsMedical assistant programsEMT & paramedic trainingLPN / LVN programsDiesel mechanic schoolsCulinary & pastry schoolsDental assistant schoolsDental hygiene programsRadiology & sonography programsCNC & machining programsMedical billing & coding programsSurgical technologist programsPhlebotomy classesBarber schools
51%completion rate · Georgia avg 50%
not reportedmedian debt of graduates
$31,758median earnings, 6 yrs after entry
$35,951median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
not reportedannual cost of attendance
Yesfederal aid (FAFSA / Pell) eligible
Accreditation: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing | American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation | American Physical Therapy Association, Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Edu | Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology | Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (Accredited)
Address: 800 U.S. Hwy 29 North, Athens, GA 30601 · Phone: (706) 355-5000 · School website ↗ · Verify on College Scorecard ↗
Accountability record (federal accreditation database, last 36 months; Department of Education oversight)
No accreditor sanctions in the last 36 months
Sanctions are probation, warning, show-cause and loss-of-accreditation actions by any recognized accreditor, including program-specific accreditors (a nursing-program probation counts for the campus). Routine monitoring reviews and voluntary withdrawals are not counted. Ask the school what the action concerned and how it was resolved.

Athens Technical College is a public trade school in Athens, GA offering auto mechanic, cosmetology, and welding programs, accredited by SACS.

Athens Technical College has a 50.6% completion rate, near the state average of 49.7%, and graduates earn a median of $35,951 ten years after entry, per the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard.

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for Athens Technical College in federal data; federal financial aid including FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used here, and 36.4% of students receive Pell Grants.

Completion rate vs. benchmarks
Athens Technical Coll… Athens Technical Coll…: 50.6% 50.6% Georgia average Georgia average: 49.7% 49.7% National average National average: 62.1% 62.1%

What these trades pay once you're working

OccupationStarting (10th pct)MedianExperienced (75th)
Automotive service technicians and mechanics$33,580$49,060$65,530
Hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists$17,310$34,560$48,730
Welders, cutters, solderers and brazers$38,030$48,430$58,240
Heavy and tractor-trailer truck drivers$38,150$57,050$68,780
Electricians$37,180$58,320$76,490
HVAC and refrigeration mechanics and installers$36,990$56,390$66,180
Skincare specialists$32,670$48,660$51,510
Medical assistants$34,270$41,600$46,870
Emergency medical technicians$33,910$45,550$48,400
Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses$46,010$62,030$70,690
Bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists$45,890$61,370$75,340
Chefs and head cooks$43,300$66,230$90,350
Dental assistants$36,410$46,840$48,960
Dental hygienists$74,610$95,490$101,620
Radiologic technologists and technicians$49,730$74,550$85,300
Machinists$37,060$52,610$64,180
Medical records specialists$36,260$51,550$64,840
Surgical technologists$40,390$64,010$78,410
Phlebotomists$34,600$45,840$50,250
Barbers$27,950$30,750$60,150

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wages for everyone employed in the occupation in Georgia (May 2025; national where the state figure is not published). The program table below shows what this campus's own graduates earned in their first year, whatever job they took.

Trade programs at this campus

ProgramCredentialGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Earnings, yr 2Median debt
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 113 not reported not reported not reported
Ground Transportation Certificate, 300–899 hours 98 not reported not reported not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 90 $16,815 $18,771 not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 300–899 hours 48 $38,068 $38,289 not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 300–899 hours 47 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 46 not reported $28,598 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 1–2 years 43 $16,815 $18,771 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 41 $16,815 $18,771 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 31 not reported $28,598 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 23 not reported $28,598 not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Certificate, 1–2 years 22 not reported not reported not reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate, 1–2 years 22 $38,677 $37,568 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 300–899 hours 22 not reported $28,598 not reported
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers Associate degree 21 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Certificate, 1–2 years 19 $25,441 $22,796 not reported
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR) Certificate, 1–2 years 16 $38,068 $38,289 not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 15 $43,494 not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Associate degree 15 $50,744 $53,358 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 15 not reported $28,598 not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 12 $42,510 $39,369 not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services Associate degree 12 $42,307 $51,106 not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 10 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 1–2 years 9 not reported $28,598 not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 8 not reported not reported not reported
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 8 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Certificate, 2–4 years 8 not reported $28,598 not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Certificate, 1–2 years 7 $43,494 not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Associate degree 7 $27,603 not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 7 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 6 $42,510 $39,369 not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 6 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 5 not reported not reported not reported
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions Certificate, 300–899 hours 4 not reported $24,035 not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 4 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 2–4 years 3 not reported not reported not reported
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians Associate degree 3 not reported not reported not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Associate degree 2 $42,510 $39,369 not reported
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 2 $16,815 $18,771 not reported
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate, 300–899 hours 2 not reported not reported not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 1–2 years 2 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Certificate, 300–899 hours 1 not reported not reported not reported
Precision Metal Working Associate degree 1 not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Graduates per year from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey. Earnings and debt are College Scorecard field-of-study medians for graduates of this program at this campus (reported at the 4-digit program level, so closely related programs share a figure); "not reported" means too few graduates were counted to publish a figure.

Visit the school's website ↗

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →

About this school

Athens Technical College is a public trade and career-training campus in Athens, Georgia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, with additional program-level accreditation from bodies such as the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. Federal financial aid, including FAFSA and Pell Grants, can be used here. Across its 44 programs, the campus awards the most completions in auto mechanic schools (141), cosmetology schools (133), and welding schools (123), alongside offerings in welding, CDL training, electrician, HVAC, medical assistant, EMT, LPN, diesel mechanic, culinary, dental hygiene, radiology tech, CNC machining, medical billing/coding, surgical tech, phlebotomy, and barber programs.

Federal data show a completion rate of 50.6%, near the state average of 49.7%. Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,951. About 36.4% of students receive Pell Grants. Median graduate debt and annual cost of attendance are not reported for this campus in federal data.

With 881 trade completers among an undergraduate enrollment of 3,318 in a midsize city setting, this campus fits students seeking hands-on, program-specific training across a wide range of trades, including career changers interested in shorter, skills-focused pathways rather than a traditional four-year degree. Because program length and format vary by field, prospective students should confirm specific schedules directly with the school. To verify accreditation and outcomes independently, check the accreditors listed above and review the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Questions students ask

What trade and career programs does this campus offer?

Athens Technical College offers 44 programs, with the most completions in auto mechanic schools (141), cosmetology schools (133), and welding schools (123). It also offers CDL training, electrician, HVAC, medical assistant, EMT, LPN, diesel mechanic, culinary, dental hygiene, radiology tech, CNC machining, medical billing/coding, surgical tech, phlebotomy, and barber programs.

Is this school accredited, and by whom?

Yes, it is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, along with program-specific accreditors including the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, the American Dental Association's Commission on Dental Accreditation, the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.

Can I use federal financial aid (FAFSA, Pell Grants) at this school?

Yes, this campus participates in Title IV federal financial aid programs, meaning FAFSA and Pell Grants can be used.

What share of students finish their program here, and how does that compare to the state?

The completion rate is 50.6%, which is near the Georgia state average of 49.7%, per federal data.

How much debt do graduates of this school typically carry?

Median graduate debt is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school directly or check the College Scorecard link for updates.

What do graduates of this school earn?

Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,951, according to the College Scorecard.

How much does it cost to attend for a year?

Annual cost of attendance is not reported for this campus in federal data; contact the school at (706) 355-5000 or visit its website for current tuition figures.

Is this a public, non-profit, or for-profit school, and why does that matter?

Athens Technical College is a public institution, which typically means lower tuition for in-state students and eligibility for state as well as federal funding.

How long do the programs here take to complete?

Specific program lengths are not reported in the data provided; contact the school directly to confirm program duration for a given trade.

How do I verify this school's accreditation and outcomes myself?

You can confirm accreditation status with the listed accreditors and review completion, earnings, and cost data through the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard at the link provided.

Is this school a good fit for an adult changing careers?

The campus offers a wide range of hands-on trade programs in fields like auto mechanics, welding, and cosmetology, which may suit adults seeking practical, skills-based training, though specific scheduling details are not reported here.

What license or certification will I need after finishing a program here?

Licensing and certification requirements vary by trade and are not reported in this data; contact the school directly for program-specific licensing information.

How do I contact the school or apply?

You can reach Athens Technical College at (706) 355-5000 or visit https://www.athenstech.edu/ for application information.

How does this campus compare with other schools offering the same trade nearby?

Comparative data on nearby schools is not included here; use the College Scorecard link to compare completion rates, costs, and earnings across institutions.

Data: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026. Figures are the U.S. Department of Education's official measures, not Career Training Path's opinion. Tuition, schedules and program availability change — confirm with the school before enrolling.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →