Career Training Path › Heavy equipment operator schools › California
Heavy equipment operator schools in California
California has 4 accredited campuses awarding heavy equipment credentials. If you finish and work as a construction equipment operator in California, expect to start around $52,760–$65,230 and reach a median of $87,160 with experience; the top quarter earn $125,560 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, California). Graduates of these California programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of not reported in their first year, against $34,973 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What operating engineers and other construction equipment operators earn in California
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 36,020 employed in California. National median: $59,850.
Campuses in California, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: CoalingaOrovilleReddingSan Bernardino
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Butte College | Oroville | Public | 37 | not reported | not reported | 45% | not reported |
| Shasta College | Redding | Public | 12 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Coalinga College | Coalinga | Public | 9 | not reported | not reported | 43% | not reported |
| Heavy Equipment Colleges of America | San Bernardino | — | — | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.