Career Training Path
Students training in a electrician program

Career Training PathElectrician schools › West Virginia

Electrician schools in West Virginia

West Virginia has 9 accredited campuses awarding electrician credentials. If you finish and work as an electrician in West Virginia, expect to start around $43,620–$48,610 and reach a median of $64,810 with experience; the top quarter earn $83,920 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, West Virginia). Graduates of these West Virginia programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $28,723 in their first year, against $34,710 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What electricians earn in West Virginia

$43,620starting (10th percentile)
$48,610early career (25th)
$64,810median, all experience
$83,920experienced (75th)
$95,140top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 4,290 employed in West Virginia. National median: $63,190.

Campuses in West Virginia, ranked by what their graduates earned

9campuses in West Virginia
131credentials awarded / yr
$28,723median earnings, yr 1 (West Virginia)
$34,710median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: BeckleyBuckhannonFairmontHuntingtonMartinsburgOak HillParkersburgPrinceton

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Pierpont Community and Technical College Fairmont Public 12 $94,290 not reported 42% not reported
Mercer County Technical Education Center Princeton Public 11 $28,723 not reported 79% $10,248
Cabell County Career Technology Center Huntington Public 15 $27,368 not reported 64% $8,474
James Rumsey Technical Institute Martinsburg Public 33 not reported not reported 77% $13,393
Fayette Institute of Technology Oak Hill Public 18 not reported not reported 92% $10,382
Fred W Eberle Technical Center Buckhannon Public 17 not reported not reported 98% $9,294
Blue Ridge Community and Technical College Martinsburg Public 12 not reported not reported 32% not reported
Academy of Careers and Technology Beckley Public 10 not reported not reported 82% $18,803
West Virginia University at Parkersburg Parkersburg Public 3 not reported not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

Other trades in West Virginia

All trade and career schools in West Virginia →

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →