Career Training Path
Students training in a diesel tech program

Career Training PathDiesel mechanic schools › Indiana

Diesel mechanic schools in Indiana

Indiana has 2 accredited campuses awarding diesel tech credentials. If you finish and work as a diesel technician in Indiana, expect to start around $44,160–$49,270 and reach a median of $60,610 with experience; the top quarter earn $70,810 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Indiana). Graduates of these Indiana programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $36,069 in their first year, against $37,506 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What bus and truck mechanics and diesel engine specialists earn in Indiana

$44,160starting (10th percentile)
$49,270early career (25th)
$60,610median, all experience
$70,810experienced (75th)
$79,730top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 8,840 employed in Indiana. National median: $61,770.

Campuses in Indiana, ranked by what their graduates earned

2campuses in Indiana
63credentials awarded / yr
$36,069median earnings, yr 1 (Indiana)
$37,506median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: IndianapolisVincennes

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Vincennes University Vincennes Public 42 $44,042 $12,000 not reported not reported
Ivy Tech Community College Indianapolis Public 21 $36,069 $6,000 41% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Indiana

All trade and career schools in Indiana →

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →