Career Training Path
Students training in a dental hygiene program

Career Training PathDental hygiene programs › Louisiana

Dental hygiene programs in Louisiana

Louisiana has 1 accredited campuses awarding dental hygiene credentials. If you finish and work as a dental hygienist in Louisiana, expect to start around $49,900–$79,550 and reach a median of $85,240 with experience; the top quarter earn $96,010 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Louisiana). Graduates of these Louisiana programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of not reported in their first year, against $51,231 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What dental hygienists earn in Louisiana

$49,900starting (10th percentile)
$79,550early career (25th)
$85,240median, all experience
$96,010experienced (75th)
$98,330top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 2,690 employed in Louisiana. National median: $98,100.

Campuses in Louisiana, ranked by what their graduates earned

1campuses in Louisiana
8credentials awarded / yr
not reportedmedian earnings, yr 1 (Louisiana)
$51,231median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: Shreveport

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Southern University at Shreveport Shreveport Public community college 8 not reported not reported 11% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Louisiana

All trade and career schools in Louisiana →

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →