Career Training Path
Students training in a culinary program

Career Training PathCulinary & pastry schools › South Dakota

Culinary & pastry schools in South Dakota

South Dakota has 2 accredited campuses awarding culinary credentials. If you finish and work as a chef in South Dakota, expect to start around $37,450–$39,650 and reach a median of $48,470 with experience; the top quarter earn $51,870 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, South Dakota). Graduates of these South Dakota programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of not reported in their first year, against $24,208 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What chefs and head cooks earn in South Dakota

$37,450starting (10th percentile)
$39,650early career (25th)
$48,470median, all experience
$51,870experienced (75th)
$57,820top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 300 employed in South Dakota. National median: $62,470.

Campuses in South Dakota, ranked by what their graduates earned

2campuses in South Dakota
6credentials awarded / yr
not reportedmedian earnings, yr 1 (South Dakota)
$24,208median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: MitchellSisseton

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Mitchell Technical College Mitchell Public 5 not reported not reported 76% not reported
Sisseton Wahpeton College Sisseton Public 1 not reported not reported not reported not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path · Free weekly newsletter
Career training, minus the guesswork.
Which programs finish, what graduates owe, what they earn. Every week.
Subscribe →

Other trades in South Dakota

All trade and career schools in South Dakota →

Choosing a career program? Pick with the numbers.
Completion, debt and pay for real programs, plus one practical tip a week. Free.
Subscribe →