Career Training Path
Students training in a culinary program

Career Training PathCulinary & pastry schools › Maine

Culinary & pastry schools in Maine

Maine has 5 accredited campuses awarding culinary credentials. If you finish and work as a chef in Maine, expect to start around $48,430–$55,070 and reach a median of $57,010 with experience; the top quarter earn $63,060 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, Maine). Graduates of these Maine programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $32,093 in their first year, against $24,208 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.

What chefs and head cooks earn in Maine

$48,430starting (10th percentile)
$55,070early career (25th)
$57,010median, all experience
$63,060experienced (75th)
$81,120top earners (90th)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 1,250 employed in Maine. National median: $62,470.

Campuses in Maine, ranked by what their graduates earned

5campuses in Maine
33credentials awarded / yr
$32,093median earnings, yr 1 (Maine)
$24,208median earnings, yr 1 (U.S.)

Cities: AuburnBangorFairfieldSouth PortlandWells

CampusCityTypeGrads / yrEarnings, yr 1Program debtCompletionCost / yr
Southern Maine Community College South Portland Public 4 $32,093 not reported 28% not reported
Central Maine Community College Auburn Public 8 not reported not reported 30% not reported
Eastern Maine Community College Bangor Public 8 not reported not reported 32% not reported
York County Community College Wells Public 7 not reported not reported 34% not reported
Kennebec Valley Community College Fairfield Public 6 not reported not reported 39% not reported

Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.

Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.

The Path
Nine months to a paycheck that AI can't take.
A free weekly newsletter for people choosing a hands-on career: trades, technical and healthcare.
Subscribe →

Other trades in Maine

All trade and career schools in Maine →

The Path
Lineworkers earn $95k. Dental hygienists $98k. Barbers $38k.
The federal numbers on every trade, technical and healthcare career, in a free weekly newsletter.
Subscribe →