Career Training Path › Construction trades programs › North Carolina
Construction trades programs in North Carolina
North Carolina has 21 accredited campuses awarding construction credentials. If you finish and work as a construction laborer in North Carolina, expect to start around $31,850–$37,380 and reach a median of $44,720 with experience; the top quarter earn $49,070 or more (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2025, North Carolina). Graduates of these North Carolina programs — every graduate, whatever job they took — earned a median of $42,229 in their first year, against $27,572 nationally; that is the figure used to rank campuses below.
What construction laborers earn in North Carolina
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; 35,620 employed in North Carolina. National median: $47,120.
Campuses in North Carolina, ranked by what their graduates earned
Cities: AshevilleCharlotteClintonDobsonFayettevilleJamestownMorgantonRaleighSalisburySanfordShelbySpindaleSpruce PineSylvaTroyWeldonWhitevilleWilkesboroWilmingtonWinston-SalemWinterville
| Campus | City | Type | Grads / yr | Earnings, yr 1 | Program debt | Completion | Cost / yr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wake Technical Community College | Raleigh | Public | 114 | $42,229 | $12,500 | 33% | not reported |
| Cape Fear Community College | Wilmington | Public | 116 | not reported | not reported | 35% | not reported |
| Central Piedmont Community College | Charlotte | Public | 65 | not reported | not reported | 31% | not reported |
| Pitt Community College | Winterville | Public | 57 | not reported | not reported | 35% | not reported |
| Fayetteville Technical Community College | Fayetteville | Public | 50 | not reported | not reported | 24% | not reported |
| Wilkes Community College | Wilkesboro | Public | 48 | not reported | not reported | 55% | not reported |
| Central Carolina Community College | Sanford | Public | 36 | not reported | not reported | 43% | not reported |
| Southeastern Community College | Whiteville | Public | 29 | not reported | not reported | 44% | not reported |
| Mayland Community College | Spruce Pine | Public | 27 | not reported | not reported | 46% | not reported |
| Guilford Technical Community College | Jamestown | Public | 23 | not reported | not reported | 31% | not reported |
| Halifax Community College | Weldon | Public | 19 | not reported | not reported | 35% | not reported |
| Isothermal Community College | Spindale | Public | 19 | not reported | not reported | 56% | not reported |
| Southwestern Community College | Sylva | Public | 18 | not reported | not reported | 53% | not reported |
| Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College | Asheville | Public | 15 | not reported | not reported | 40% | not reported |
| Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | Salisbury | Public | 12 | not reported | not reported | 35% | not reported |
| Forsyth Technical Community College | Winston-Salem | Public | 10 | not reported | not reported | 34% | not reported |
| Surry Community College | Dobson | Public | 8 | not reported | not reported | 6.4% | not reported |
| Sampson Community College | Clinton | Public | 7 | not reported | not reported | 57% | not reported |
| Cleveland Community College | Shelby | Public | 6 | not reported | not reported | 32% | not reported |
| Western Piedmont Community College | Morganton | Public | 4 | not reported | not reported | 49% | not reported |
| Montgomery Community College | Troy | Public | 1 | not reported | not reported | 84% | not reported |
Earnings are median wages and self-employment income reported to the IRS (W-2 and Schedule SE) for graduates who received federal aid and were working and not enrolled, measured in the calendar year after finishing. They are pay only: health insurance, retirement contributions and other benefits are not included.
Ranked by median earnings of this program's graduates one year after completion (College Scorecard field-of-study, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) 2022-23 Completions survey; College Scorecard June 2026; Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP), September 2026); campuses without a reported figure follow, by credentials awarded. "Program debt" is the median federal loan debt for graduates of this program at this campus. Completion is the campus-wide 150%-of-time rate. "Not reported" means the federal file suppresses the value for privacy.